Portraits, Self Portraits, and Selfies…

Self Portrait

Yep I still hate images of myself, and I don’t think that will ever change. All I see is the flaws, and I judge myself harder than any of those around me.

But the Self Portrait is something that has been explored in photography since its conception. Hippolyte Bayard didn’t see his own portrait as a living loving man. He shows himself slumped in a corner, hands and face darker that the rest of his body, dead to the eye. His ‘Portrait as a drowned man’ would have to be the earliest ‘artistic’ or dare I say ‘conceptual’ self portraits created. Most of all, we wish that when we take a portrait we capture something of the person ‘within’.

You can be yourself (like I am above) or play the ‘role’ of  someone you think you are (like below).

Self Portrait as Housewife.

Leave a Reply

