Stop Motion Trials..

Well today has been pretty wet and miserable in Melbourne. I have been stuck in behind the computer almost all day, with nothing much to do part from edits; edits; and when I think I’m done more edits. So I decided to take an hour or so to myself and do some work on creating some basic Stop Motion in Photoshop.

So I popped over to YouTube and had a look at this video by Dave Cross which gave me the basics in what I needed to create ‘something’. I decided to shoot a few things around the house, as I never wanted to go to far.

So what’s the hardest thing about Stop Motion? The maths. Yes MATHS.

You need to structure out the images into a sequence that communicates the ideas your presenting, but have enough images to get the sequence together into a time frame that is coherent and watchable. So 30fps (frames per second) is where it all starts from and we need to work slightly backwards from there to go forwards..

Spacing your images at .1sec makes (less than 30fps) gives us a basic 10 frames for every second of footage, and hence lies the maths. So if you want your footage to go for 1 min that is 600 frames. If you decrease the time between each frame, you increase the frame rate back to 30fps. So you will need 1,800 to make 1 min of footage!!

But it’s a ton of fun, and something everyone should have a crack trying. My next thing is to add some Music..

Grab a camera, get an idea, and get clicking..

Leave a Reply

